BCom (Hons), PhD, DB h.c, FASSA, FAIIA

As announced to the market on 7 February 2019, Dr Henry will retire from the Board once a new permanent CEO has been appointed. Mr Chronican, current Director and interim Group Chief Executive Officer, will replace Dr Henry as Chairman later in 2019.

Dr Henry has been Chairman since December 2015 and a Non-Executive Director since November 2011. He is Chairman of the Board's Nomination & Governance Committee.

Dr Henry has over 30 years of experience in economics, policy and regulation, governance and leadership. He served as the Secretary of the Department of the Treasury from 2001 to 2011. From June 2011 until November 2012, he was special advisor to the Prime Minister with responsibility for leading the development of the White Paper on Australia in the Asian Century. He is a former member of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia, the Board of Taxation, the Council of Financial Regulators, the Council of Infrastructure Australia and was Chair of both the Howard Government’s Taxation Taskforce (‘A New Tax System’, 1997-1998) and the Review into Australia’s Future Tax System (the ‘Henry Tax Review’) commissioned by the Rudd Government (2008-09). He was made a Companion of the Order of Australia in 2007 and received the Centenary Medal in 2001. He is Co-Chair of NAB's Indigenous Advisory Group.

Directorships of listed entities:

ASX Limited (since February 2013)

Dr Henry's other directorships and interests include Sir Roland Wilson Foundation (Chairman), Cape York Partnership, Committee of Economic Development of Australia (Governor), Accounting for Nature Limited, John Grill Centre for Project Leadership's Advisory Board and Australia-China Senior Business Leaders Forum.

Board of Directors